skip navigation

Team Minnesota Announced for 2014 Brick Invitational Hockey Tournament

By MN Blades, 04/17/14, 11:45AM CDT


Team Minnesota has selected their roster for the 25th annual 2014 Brick Invitational Super Novice Hockey Tournament. The Brick tournament is the most prestigious tournament for 10 year olds in North America.

Minneapolis, MN, March 28, 2014 – The team representing Minnesota at the 25th annual 2014 Brick Invitational Super Novice Hockey Tournament has been selected. The team of elite players will compete in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada in July against North America’s best 10 year olds. This year’s tournament will feature teams from Canada and from the United States. Team Minnesota was selected after open tryouts for top players in the Minnesota and greater Minnesota area, and includes elite players from the Twin Cities, greater Minnesota and 3 Import Players from Florida.

Team Minnesota will be coached by Ed Zepeda, Head Coach of the 2004 Minnesota Blades AAA Hockey Team, along with Assistant Coaches Todd Heir, Bill Thoreson and Ryan Brindley.  Zepeda has coached Minnesota Blades teams for many years. “I am humbled and excited to lead this elite group of 10 year old hockey players representing Team Minnesota. Our young athletes will get to compete against and witness firsthand the best competition that exists today in all of North America over the course of the tournament.  This tournament is something these players and their families will talk about for a long time.  I am very excited for the players who will be a part of Team Minnesota and look forward to our success in Edmonton.” said Zepeda.   

Team Minnesota is accepting sponsorships for this exciting event. Sponsorships are an important way to support the boys and gain recognition among the youth hockey community represented in Edmonton. Interested parties can contact Heather Dexheimer at

The Brick Invitational is one of the most unique and competitive hockey tournaments in North America because it features just one age level: tenyear olds. It is a weeklong event with six round robin games per team, followed by semifinals and finals for those who advance. The last day of the tournament features a skills competition and closing ceremonies during which players exchange jerseys. Some of the top stars in the National Hockey League cite playing in The Brick Invitational among their greatest hockey memories. Past Brick participants include accomplished Minnesotans like Blake Wheeler, Jack Hillen, Derek Stepan and Erik Johnson, and other NHL stars like Steven Samkos, Jonathan Toews, Danny Heatley, Dion Phaneuf and Dustin Byfuglien.

Additional information is available at:

 The Minnesota Blades AAA Hockey Club is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) youth hockey association founded in 1989 by John Arko and Dennis Postregna to give talented Minnesota youth hockey players the opportunity to travel outside the state and country to compete at the Tier I level in the offseason. Part of the Blades philosophy is that the best competition challenges players to be their best. Every year, more than 250 players compete for the Blades. The organization includes boys and girls teams from Mites to Midgets, ages nine to nineteen. The Blades have helped more than 300 Minnesota kids obtain Division I scholarships, and more than a quarter of these players have moved on to professional hockey. Additional information may be found at:

The 2014 Team Brick Minnesota roster includes: Jackson Anderson, Brooks Bond, Gavin Brindley, Ryan Chesley, Jimmy Clark, Finn Dexheimer, Jacob Fowler, Trey Gnetz, Luke Hause, Isaac Howard, Brady Ingebritson, Gavin Lindberg, Nick Mikan, Quinn Schliesman, Aaron Schwartz and Gavyn Thoreson.

Contact information:
Jaime Fransway, Executive Director
Minnesota Blades