skip navigation

Five Blades Nominated for Hobey Baker Award

By MN Blades, 02/01/17, 11:30AM CST


Five Minnesota Blades have been nominated for this year’s HobeyBaker Award, given annually to the best player in NCAA Hockey.   Grant Besse (94 Blades, Wisconsin Sr.), T.J. Moore (95 Blades, Holy Cross jr.), Will Butcher (95 Blades, Denver Sr.);  Brock Boeser (97 Blades, North Dakota Sophomore),  C.J. Smith (94 Blades, UMass Lowell Jr.).    

These five Blades are among the 66 players nominated for this year’s award.  Fans can vote daily, through this link:


According to the Hobey Baker Website:

There are four criteria against which nominees for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award are considered:

  1. Strength of character, on and off the ice
  2. Contribution to the integrity of the team and outstanding skills in all phases of the game
  3. Scholastic achievement and sportsmanship
  4. Compliance with all NCAA rules, including being a full-time student in an accredited college or university and completing 50 percent or more of the season

The selection process for the award is in three parts. First, the head coaches of NCAA Division I schools nominate the top three players in their league and the top three players in the nation. College hockey fans can also vote online at this time—and fan voting can be an important factor in the balloting outcome. Price Waterhouse Coopers tabulates the votes and the top 10 candidates are announced.   (See More…